Fall River is a city in Bristol County, Massachusetts, United States. Fall River's population was 94,000 at the 2020 United States census, making it the tenth-largest city in the state. It straddles part of the Massachusetts and Rhode Island state line with Tiverton, RI to its south.
Located along the eastern shore of Mount Hope Bay at the mouth of the Taunton River, the city gained recognition during the 19th century as a leading textile manufacturing center in the United States. While the textile industry has long since moved on, its impact on the city's culture and landscape is still prominent. Fall River's official motto is "We'll Try", dating back to the aftermath of the Great Fire of 1843. Nicknamed The Scholarship City after Irving Fradkin founded Dollars for Scholars there in 1958, mayor Jasiel Correia introduced the "Make It Here" slogan as part of a citywide rebranding effort in 2017.Fall River is known for the Lizzie Borden case, the Fall River cult murders, Portuguese culture, its numerous 19th-century textile mills and Battleship Cove, home of the world's largest collection of World War II naval vessels (including the battleship USS Massachusetts). Fall River has its city hall located over an interstate highway.
}}
The hometown of celebrity chef Emeril Lagasse, Fall River hosts multiple culinary hidden gems, and offerings that cannot be found even in nearby Boston.
Since 2018, Fall River has been home to two craft breweries. New England is famous for its beer, and the quality of these two locations exceeds their small size.
As of 2020, there are very few options for overnight accommodations in Fall River proper.
Several hotels and motels in Westport or Somerset are less than a mile from Fall River's borders.
Fall River's name comes from Quequechan (locally, QUICK-uh-shan), a Wampanoag word meaning "Falling Water". At one time, the Quequechan River meandered through the city, connecting South Watuppa Pond to the Taunton River via eight small waterfalls. Today, most of the river is routed underground, covered by I-195. A lone aboveground waterfall remains; it's manmade and hidden in the Metacomet Mills complex, near where Anawan St. intersects Davol St.